top of page

Navigating Loss: Finding Strength and Healing Through Your Inner Journey

Life throws curveballs, and losing a loved one is often one of the most stressful experiences we can face. The Holmes and Rahe Stress Scale, which measures life events that can impact our well-being, ranks the death of a spouse or close family member as the most stressful event.

This is no surprise. Grief is a complex and deeply personal journey, far more nuanced than the often-cited 'five stages'.

The Many Faces of Grief

Grief is not a sign of weakness; it's a testament to the love and connection you shared. As you watch your loved one age or face their illness, it's a complex mix of emotions – from sadness to frustration, from gratitude to anxiety. Or you may be grieving the loss of a job, an important opportunity or a cherished relationship.

It can be surprising to realise that grief isn't linear. It can be a wave of emotions – sadness, anger, guilt, even numbness. You might experience periods of intense longing followed by moments of unexpected joy. Feeling as if you are on an emotional rollercoaster is a perfectly normal reaction to a profound loss.

Beyond the Tears: The Practical Challenges of Loss

In the midst of it all, there are often practical hurdles to navigate. Funeral arrangements, managing legal and financial affairs, and simply getting through the day-to-day can feel overwhelming. Allow yourself to grieve, but also seek support.

In the midst of caregiving and loss, remember that taking care of yourself is not a luxury; it's a necessity.

Lean on friends, family, support groups. You're not burdening them; you're allowing them to be part of your journey. And don't be afraid to share your feelings. Talking about your emotions can be like letting fresh air into a stuffy room – it brings clarity and relief.

Finding Meaning in the Midst of Pain

Grief counselor Elisabeth Kübler-Ross proposed the "five stages of grief" – denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance. However, grief is a more personal experience. Some may experience these stages, while others may not. There's also a sixth stage, often overlooked, where we begin to find meaning in the loss. This may involve honoring the memory of your loved one, creating traditions to keep their spirit alive, or even using your experience to help others facing similar losses.

Energy Healing: A Supportive Tool on Your Journey

As someone who has personally experienced loss with the death of my father and some tough job retrenchments, I understand the depth of grief. Here at Sacred Renewal Studios, I offer a safe space where you can explore holistic practices like EFT Tapping, mindfulness, and energy field balancing. These techniques can help you:

  • Process your emotions:  EFT Tapping allows you to release emotional blockages and find peace.

  • Navigate difficult thoughts:  Mindfulness helps you observe your emotions without getting swept away by them.

  • Restore inner balance:  Energy field balancing can bring a sense of calm and inner peace.

You are not alone. This path may be tough, but within you lies strength and resilience. If the time feels right, we can explore ways to ease your pain and find peace on your healing journey.

I offer a judgment-free space where you can share your story, explore your pain and be supported on your journey towards healing.

With empathy and support.



bottom of page